Bad-Ass Heroines of the Biblical Narrative

Image of Deborah, the prophet, judge, mediator and warrior. Via Here.

Lately I’ve had this overwhelming urge to be bad-ass*. Don’t get me wrong; I still have my normal paranoid thoughts when I’m home alone involving creepy men breaking in and attacking me. Lately, though, my imagination has me totally kicking butt and taking names (i.e. yanking arms, throwing ’em to the ground, a swift kick in the groin, etc. etc.)

I attribute this recent surge of confidence to my recent increased reading of action/fantasy novels, specifically those that feature female heroines. Most recently, I’ve finished a series in which the heroine could not only hold her own physically, but she was vulnerable and complex in character as well. What really drew me in, however, was that I heartily believed I could relate to her, and in relating to her, I could reflect such awesome characteristics, too!

This got me thinking about hero epics. I found myself feeling so empowered simply because I was able to relate to a character. And suddenly I realized, “Wow! This must be how a guy feels almost every time he reads or watches something.” How awesome must it feel to have the constant opportunity to experience this sense of empowerment through stories? It’s simply amazing how that kind of hope and increased confidence can flow into real life, and yet, it’s not very often that a woman is able to come across such stories she can fully relate to.

Over the last few years, I’ve been realizing just how much the same holds true for the stories of the Bible. History’s patriarchal societal structure has always had its hand on these things, but that’s not to say that the woman’s epic isn’t there. In fact, I daresay the woman heroes of the Bible are even more relatable than many novels’ female characters. Like a good action-packed epic, we are able to see the towering strength of our biblical heroines, but right alongside that strength we also see great amounts of fear, vulnerability and the realization of the powerful forces they were up against. That, my friends, is real life. These are the kinds of things that make the women of the Bible even more relatable.

One of the many positive influences of seminary was learning how to identify and appreciate the heroines of the Bible more fully. I now see that the Bible would be incomplete without their contributions. Although their stories tend to reveal themselves in quieter ways, they are still absolutely essential to the Christian story. When it comes to the many great men of the Bible, I’m reminded of Harry Potter. He was the obvious hero, but we all know he wouldn’t have lasted a day without Hermione’s bravery and clever wit. Similarly, there are many women of the Bible who had their hand in the ultimate story of Christianity, but are not often recognized for their simple, but heroic acts of faith:

  • Sarah (Genesis 12-22), who was strong and decisive and unafraid to take the initiative.
  • Hagar (Genesis 16), who was the first woman to have an annunciation of birth and the only person in the Bible to name God (El Roi – God who sees). She was brave.
  • Rebekah (Genesis 24), who was a strong presence amidst complacency and passiveness.
  • Tamar (Genesis 38), who’s voice was ignored, but who took charge anyway to secure her rightful future.
  • The midwives, Shiphrah and Puah (Exodus 1), who risked their lives through civil disobedience because they feared God and trusted in his promise.
  • Miriam (Exodus 15), who praises God in song after he delivers the Israelites from Egypt.
  • Rahab (Joshua 2), who cunningly risked her life for a future she would have otherwise had no ownership in.
  • Deborah (Judges 4-5), a prophetess who led men in battle when their own leader was too afraid.
  • Jael (Judges 4), who triumphed over a seemingly invincible warrior.
  • Hannah (1 Samuel 1-3), who prayed fervently for a child, and ended up bearing Samuel, one of the most consistently faithful men in all of the Bible.
  • The unnamed Concubine (Judges 19), who’s tragic story will never be forgotten, though we know not her name.
  • Huldah (2 Kings 22, 2 Chronicles 34), the prophetess, who was chosen by King Josiah out of all the prophets of the time to authenticate the rediscovered book of the law.
  • Mary (Matthew 1), mother of Jesus, who said YES.
  • Mary Magdalene, Joanna, Chuza, Susanna and many others who traveled with Jesus (Luke 7).
  • The great number of women followers of Jesus who engaged in ministry throughout the epistles such as Tabitha/Dorcas, Lydia, and Priscilla (Acts);
  • Phoebe (Romans 16), a deacon of the church;
  • Junia (Romans 16), prominent among the apostles;
  • Tryphaena and Tryphosa (Romans 16), women laborers in the Lord;
  • Nympha (Colossians 4:15), the host and leader of a church;

This week, however, I’m especially touched by the women of Christ in his day, specifically as described in Luke, chapter 7. So many women gave up everything because they saw and believed. They traveled with Jesus. They perfumed his feet. They served faithfully and lovingly. They stuck around after he was betrayed, despite the risk on their own lives and despite the fact that the disciples were no where to be found. They were the first to see Christ reappear; they were the first to believe in his resurrection. They were arguably more faithful than any others.

What strikes me the most about these biblical heroines is that even amidst patriarchy at its worst, these women of the Bible, who were basically equal to property in their time, who were hardly more than a commodity to the men around them, even so – these women were not only included in the sacred stories throughout the Bible, but were truly monumental in achieving God’s purposes. Their heroic actions could simply not be ignored.

I absolutely hate it when people argue that God used women in such roles only after the men wouldn’t step up. People use this argument to oppress women. The fact is that men often didn’t step up, and women, even in their low position, found a way to use what little power and resources they had to do great things in God’s name.

Realizing this all-too-often downplayed aspect of scripture is beyond empowering and encouraging to women. We do have our epic, even in the Bible. We have women that we can relate to. We can see ourselves in the story. We can be strong like them. We can use what gifts/resources we have and be fervent like them. We can be faithful like them.

So here’s to some of my favorite women of the Bible. You inspire my faith. You teach me. You empower me. You change the way I read the Bible. I can relate to you. You are brave. You are cunning. You are fierce. You are a tower of strength. YOU are bad-ass (I want to be bad-ass, too).

*Sorry for the profanity, but I really can’t think of a more fitting descriptor here. This is exactly what I’m trying to say. 

One thought on “Bad-Ass Heroines of the Biblical Narrative

Leave a comment